EA Flix: Currently Playing

EA Flix

 

Palladio

Conductor & Composer, Karl Jenkins
Featuring harpist, Catrin Finch

 

A wise old owl sat on an oak;
The more he saw the less he spoke;
The less he spoke the more he heard;
Why aren’t we like that wise old bird?”

 

Music is intensely personal. And as I’ve come to learn, not many of my readers appreciate my particular tastes on the topic. I hew, after all, to the conventionally dull and numbingly dreary – classical – and am besotted with composers like Puccini, Rachmaninov, Stravinsky, Fauré, Satie and the incomparable Maurice Jarre. But lest you think I suffer from necrophilia, take heart, dear readers, for they are all not dead! Gabriel Yared, Michel LeGrand, Trevor Jones and Ennio Morricone are known to send me into spasms of rhapsody, as is the theme from The Magnificent Seven by Elmer Bernstein (“They were 7, but they fought like 700”).

My new favorite is Welch composer, Karl Jenkins. I recently posted his ravishing “Benedictus; The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace” at Easter which, predictably, fell on deaf ears. However, I remain undeterred. I will listen to the lilting lulls, as I will, and as proprietress of TEA, suggest as I might.

My unbridled zealousness for this latest entry in EA Flix is a magisterial performance of Palladio, composed and conducted by Jenkins, himself, on the occasion of his 60th birthday at Cardiff’s St David’s Hall. The theme should be familiar as it has been featured countless times in the DeBeers diamond campaign.

What makes this performance simply zing is the gifted accompaniment of the immeasurably talented Catrin Finch playing the electric harp. Ah, to play the strings of the angels! It is beyond stunning. Do take a listen, won’t you? And if it does not appeal, merely dismiss it as the singularly depraved ravings of the lunacy of one.

 

soundwavespenguin1

 

 

~ by eaesthete on 04/20/10.

7 Responses to “EA Flix: Currently Playing”

  1. I think your taste is excellent. I love Delius, and Mahler, and Ralph Vaughn Williams, and all that you mentioned. This is the first time I have heard Jenkins. Thanks.

  2. The power of the Internet … in a matter of moments, we already are a party of two. I adore your selection as well. Thank you for proving me wrong.

  3. I LOVE it. Very powerful.

  4. I love Jenkins – particularly this piece as it so often accompanied those visually stunning commercials. And I thank you for your lush, lovely, and inspiring blog.

  5. Take heart, you are not alone. I was weened on all of the geniuses you listed and if I may add a few others; I also get a kick out of some of the renderings by Raf Von Williams, Poulenc, Scriabin, Mahler, Deebussy and Ravel too. Ciao!

  6. Elizabeth, Nuit, Lynne, Dorrell,

    I am warmed by your company!

  7. I really enjoy the article. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

