Serge Lutens

His work has been called a “caress to the eyes.” A visionary who has worked with Richard Avedon and Irving Penn in rendering exquisite interpretations of female beauty.

Discover or re-discover the vision of Serge Lutens, French, photographer, film maker, perfume art director, hair stylist, fashion designer and creator of the “Les Salons du Palais Royal”, a house of perfume.

Perfume
is a form of writing,
An ink,
A choice
made in the first person,
The dot on the I,
A weapon,
A courteous gesture,
Pat of the instant,
A consequence.

Books:
Serge Lutens
L’Esprit Serge Lutens: The Spirit of Beauty

Website

Shiseido Paris

 

 

~ by eaesthete on 01/07/10.

6 Responses to “Serge Lutens”

  1. Thank you for “reminding” me of Serge Lutens. Sometimes in one’s busy life, one forgets all those things from one’s past that were inspirational and got one to the present moment. As a child, this designer was in awe of so many advertisements from the 70’s and 80’s, and I remember vividly the sharp, sleek world that Shiseido projected. Looks like I have another coffee table book in my future!

  2. A year ago, at Bergdorf Goodman, I tried on a mixture of “Daim Blond” and “Amber Sultan.” It was a dream come true perfume to me. You’ve reminded me why I still hope to afford it someday. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention.

  3. stunning, legendary.

  4. incredible work.

  5. Serge Lutens ia a great artist and i love his fragrances, but those pictures are awesome!

  6. I’ve always loved the elusive Serge Lutens imagery and scents – he is a very complete artist. I remember reading somewhere that he knew the instant a woman walked into his Palais Royal boutique if she should be there or not… I think those images and make up are not about transformation, but about revelation.

Leave a Reply

