Designer Digs

caryn1

Apart from the house I grew up in, I’ve always lived in unusual and interesting places filled with wonderfully individual and offbeat pieces picked up in out of the way estate sales, swap meets and the treasure trove of flea marketers everywhere — the legendary Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. Arranging my ‘finds’ or ‘placing’ them as its sometimes called, was equally as offbeat; an old wooden wheelbarrow in the living room brimming over with potted ferns and flowers, a tall thin rickety ladder from an old school library with each rung filled with a hodgepodge of books, photographs and mementoes graced the kitchen.

When I came across this artful installation, the work of designer caryn grossman I felt as though I were home. This seventy-year-old former telephone factory in Atlanta is captivating, a departure from real-world living, full of rich fabrics, wonderful textures, and colored glass. Like a modest rendition of a grand chateau, it seems a place where flutes of champagne and mugs of hot coffee could happily coexist. For more of Grossman’s interiors go to revolution.

caryn2

caryn3

caryn4

cg2-079

caryn-crop-2

caryn5

img_3024a

 

DesignSponge

 

 

 

~ by eaesthete on 05/14/09.

2 Responses to “Designer Digs”

  1. What a treat to find my home here! I love your description of your own home — it captures the feelings so beautifully, I wish I could come explore. Thank you so much for including me.

    • Caryn,

      I’m so pleased you found your way here. I simply love your accents throughout.
      Not only is your eye wonderful, but your imagination rich. Thank you for making
      the world a more beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

