Oscar’s Habitats

06_oscars

“Sluggy Hollow,” a 1920s adobe house on Shoreham Drive in Los Angeles, was home to Humphrey Bogart and his third wife, actress Mayo Methot, during the years he starred in The Maltese Falcon (1941), Casablanca (1943) and To Have and Have Not (1944). The name “Sluggy Hollow” came from Methot’s widely known nickname, “Sluggy,” after her combative nature.

 

Architectural Digest

 

~ by eaesthete on 02/12/09.

5 Responses to “Oscar’s Habitats”

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Bogart with so much hair. Nevertheless, he always smoldered.

  2. I’ve just discovered your blog and I really like how you mix all the arts togheter:fahion, painting, cinema. You are now a star of my blog list.Come se me.

  3. I have never known Bogey with anyone but Bacall. But this little anecdote certainly attests to a predecessor and, it would appear, a volatile one at that.

  4. Who wins in BEST PICTURE, BEST ACTOR, BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR, BEST ACTRESS, BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS?
    On my blog you can find 2009 Oscar awards live streaming video:
    2009 OSCAR – NOMINEES AND WINNERS: http://www.playlist.com/blog/entry/12409931011
    I intend to take advantage of such resources
    Watch and you can be the first to see everything. Enjoy!

  5. Looks like he’s gettin’ himself a shooter before breakfast!
    I’m not that much into the fashion and decoration aspect of it – but nevertheless I must say you’ve got a very nice blog goin’ here.
    “Here’s lookin’ at you!”

Leave a Reply

