Six Word Memoirs

A fascinating concept: Summing up your life in six words. “It has been a living hell,” maybe? Or the title of the updated new book “Not Quite What I Was Planning,” from the revised and expanded deluxe edition: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure.

Some wonderful contributions include this from novelist Joyce Carol Oates: “Revenge is living well, without you.” Or Stephen Colbert weighs in with “Well, I thought it was funny.” Rachel Pine comes back with: “Outcast. Picked last. Surprised them all.” Then there’s this puddle of tears from Kelsey Ochs: “Followed yellow brick road. Disappointment ensued.” Who can’t relate? For more, go here. In the meantime, anyone want to take a crack at it?

 

~ by eaesthete on 12/05/08.

11 Responses to “Six Word Memoirs”

  1. unfolding a lot faster then anticipated.

    • Victoreiux,

      Good one! Timely and true. Thank you!

      I just thought of a phrase from James Joyce I always loved and and wouldn’t mind adopting as a motto:

      The Soft Sweet Swoon of Sin.

  2. In the dark. Where’s the switch?

  3. good one and I came to my perfect reply while driving home this evening from work…radio on and Barry Manilow singing:
    I made it through the rain.

  4. Barb,

    Excellent! A ping from the universe! Secretly, I’m a closet Manilow fan and have always loved that song.

  5. […] enough while blog surfing this weekend I stumbled upon the idea of a 6 word memoir. If I could sum up my life in 6 words it would […]

  6. trial and error, but trying again

  7. a leaf on a windy day

  8. feeding/growing my soul while feeding/growing others

  9. An acorn falls to the ground.

  10. life so far, location, location, location – I liked the exercise, and like the site even more.

Leave a Reply

